Lost Mother

I lost my mother
In her place I got a Mean Girl
One who can’t wait to judge my actions –
Or throw shade at the way I live my life.
I lost my mother
In her place I got a woman who will
Deflect from any wrong she has done
Or shed a tear when called out on her harmful behavior.
…And open the flood gates of emotion when presented with the thought of accountability.
I lost me mother…I lost my mother
I lost…the idea of the mother I thought I knew when I was a little girl.
In her place remains a broken woman
Struggling to cope with a life riddled with sickness and decision a single mother has to make.
I lost my mother
In her place is a woman who is surviving the best way she can…who just happened to be the person who gave me life.
I lost the idea of my mother
In its place I found the human.

Leave a comment